Wainwright Prize short list announced

The short list was announced this morning for the Wainwright Prize, for travel or nature writing focused on Britain. The six books on it are:

Common Ground by Rob Cowen (Windmill), which chronicles a year in the life of an “edgeland” in North Yorkshire;
The Outrun by Amy Liptrot (Canongate), an Orcadian memoir of addiction and recovery;
Landmarks by Robert Macfarlane (Penguin), which has featured at length on Deskbound Traveller;
The Moth Snowstorm by Michael McCarthy (John Murray), in which an environment correspondent urges us to give our hearts to nature — and to its protection;
The Fish Ladder by Katharine Norbury (Bloomsbury), in which the author seeks to cope with grief by following a river from sea to source;
and The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebanks (Penguin), the bestselling account of Lakeland farming that began as a Twitter feed.

The winner will be announced on Friday, August 5 in a special event at the BBC Countryfile Live show in Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *